One Year Anki Update

Joshua Derrick
7 min readSep 1, 2021

At the beginning of graduate school, I decided that I was going to take a new approach to studying. While my undergrad was rewarding in some ways, I felt as though much of the information I learned each semester was totally lost by the time the next round of classes, or even finals, rolled around. This couldn’t be the correct way to educate myself. There had to be another way. Anki was that way.

Nothing is so hated and also so loved as this little icon

Anki is flashcard program that uses a spaced repetition algorithm to determine when its cards should be reviewed. The review schedule follows an exponential distribution that’s based on the research of Hermann Ebinghaus on the mind’s natural forgetting curve. Rather than cramming material which you soon forget, or haphazardly reviewing a random set of cards everyday (which ends up being a lot of extra work) Anki allows you remember nearly anything for approximately ~10 minutes of work spaced out over your entire lifetime. I’ve already reviewed anki once, and my opinion of it remains pretty positive. Below I’ll share what I’ve learned over the past year and what my plans for the software are going forward.

Stats and Workload

--

--

Joshua Derrick

Every honest man puts his name to what he writes. Language learning, literature and biology. Blog transitioning to substack: https://deusexvita.substack.com/